top of page

Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover


It’s a romance and a drama with some kind of lesson that can be learned so much more.

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse. Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel.


Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Is it any surprise that this book is getting 6 stars from me? Contemporary is my jam and November 9 is amazing. If you thought Ugly Love was good, you’ll love this one just as much, if not more.


Once again this lady got me having the chills, oh dear Colleen I still remember the very first time I read one of your books and fell in love with your tales. But this one is your best so far, all the angst and how you turned someone’s flaws into beauty and love is just amazing. It’s such a waking up call that what should matter is the inner beauty in a world that tell us that all the matter is how you look in the outside.


Every November 9 was an awful day until Ben, It’s hard for me to go into detail without giving things away about the story but let’s just say that Ben and Fallon’s situation wasn’t really surprising to me at all but that doesn’t mean November 9 didn’t surprise me more than once. From the very first page of the book I was proud of Ben for taking things into his own hands. He royally screwed up Fallon’s life but he realized what happened and he decided it was time to change things and he fell for her hard. Sure he continued to do some stupid things but he always found his way back on track. I think Fallon helped a lot with that and of course all her fears. Alice was a hard nut to crack.


She was a little cold and standoffish at first but that was just her way of protecting herself and I totally understand her. I came to understand her pretty quickly and her relationship with Ben didn’t make sense but it was perfect for them. That wasn’t the only relationship of the book though. Ben gets involved with his brother wife, he’s dead so don’t think wrong. I’ll admit, I’m still not a fan of that situation, but that helped them to be stronger and understand why you have to be in love with the person you are in a relationship.


Overall, I think one of the things about Colleen Hoover’s books that just gets me is how they aren’t just romances. There is always something more going on with the characters and there is always some kind of lesson that can be learned if you look hard enough. I’m not saying her books are preachy or anything like that but they also aren’t just fluff. They are the perfect balance between the two. And yeah, the romance doesn’t hurt either.

+Follow Me: Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

bottom of page