top of page

Review: Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

My Thoughts:

A seriously beautiful writing and tale full of action, romance and a lot of decisions to take.

✦✦✦✦✦✦

Synopsis

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord...1743.


Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.



My Review

Lately I been pretty much the biggest history/fantasy buff ever. I have a very weird fascination with this series since I watched the show at starz (probably something to do with my HUGE CRUSH WITH SAM aka Jaime please DATE ME!) so Outlander by Gabaldon was added to my TBR as soon as I started watching the show. I had pretty high expectations for this one. I’m happy to say that this definitely met my expectations and left me dying for more and of course more of SAM!


Diana Gabaldon’s writing is seriously beautiful. You have to know going into the story that it’s going to be full of action, romance and a lot of decisions to take. Claire is a woman who isn’t ready to shut up her mouth if she doesn’t agree with things worse she goes to 1743 were women supposed to be quiet and brainless. Some of the chapters take place on the road and the castle where she is imprisoned in well kind off and it’s extremely hard to escape from there. Gabaldon’s writing honestly adds beauty in everything Claire’s goes through.


Claire and Jaime (my love) are obviously the main focus of this story but there are many more characters who fill the pages with them as her husband and Captain (Bastard) Randall. The depth that went into each character was pretty fantastic everyone has their own story to tell and angst to share. Jaime is this badass who was in a terrible situation. He and Claire spent a lot of time together even when she left life in the future her feelings for him started to change and turned into love, she couldn’t escape now and leave him behind. It seemed like that was a big reason for why she chose to stay and change the future. Having him with her and a baby coming, she didn’t want to see Jaime’s family suffer what she knows was coming.


Something that I loved was that Jaime wasn’t afraid to die for her or defend her. Their romance is totally extraordinary I love it, all the raw fights and that lust that consumed both of them was extraordinary chemistry was on fleek with them. She knew it was a strong possibility that one day somehow she will be back on her time with Frank but she now loves Jaime.


Overall, I can’t recommend Outlander enough. I know it’s been getting a lot of praise and it deserves every bit of it. Even if historical fiction/fantasy isn’t really your thing, you should give this one a chance. I don’t think you will regret it one bit.

+Follow Me: Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads


bottom of page