top of page

Review: Hollywood Gems by Christina Miano

My Thoughts:

A tale full of carass, new relationships, new places and a brand new start.

★★★

Synopsis:

Hollywood Gems is the first person adventure of Mia Roman. She is single, in her late twenties and looking for love. The book opens with Mia finding her apartment completely cleaned out by her boyfriend, who has stolen most of her belongings and abandoned her. Her gem decorating business involves her with Hollywood and she meets and falls in love with a movie star named Joe Barrick, and so begins her Notting Hill type journey with him, the paparazzi, and the tabloids.


Mia's best friends, Dee and Charlie, play a large part in helping her to get through it. There is a unique humor in finding out if Mia and Joe can work out their San Francisco to Los Angeles long distance relationship and also sometimes humiliatingly bad press. Her self-discovery and life lessons are both laugh out loud funny and tearful at times.


My Review:

Here’s the deal with this book I’m just not sure how I feel about it yet and I been having days to think about this review, however I’ll let you know the things that I loved about this book.

First, even though Mia was a bit over the top with her tears and how she deal with her relationship with J.B, I really thought she asked too much from his side and she wasn’t giving up nothing from him. But I loved that she wasn’t the kind of girl that got blind by money and she even owned her on Gem business, so that made her more likeable for me.


Don’t get me wrong, I don’t get Mia at all (Mia is one of my favorite’s names) but she was too over the top with her sobs and the overthinking thing was not my favorite because when you overthink things you start creating things that never happened at all.


J.B or Joe the super male star of Hollywood was just like the other guys they don’t want to hurt the others so they better avoid things and then comes the drama. But he really put his heart out there for Mia and told her how he felt for her but it wasn’t enough for her.


Through the pages you will see how they relationship goes but there’s no a lot of dialogue from Joe but I guess the little he talks is not to know he is really into her. But I did wanted to know more about Joe. At the end he ends giving out everything for Mia. And I wasn’t that happy about it.


But Andrea that’s a secondary character and the one responsible for Mia getting to know Joe, was one of my favorite she never let herself go she was totally a fighter and I love it.

Overall, Hollywood Gems is funny and full of friendships and that was something I really enjoy it. Remember friends before guys!

bottom of page