top of page

Review: Hell on Heels by Anne Jolin

My Thoughts:

Compelling and beautifully moving. Jolin delivers a rousing page turner about finding, losing and reclaiming yourself.

★★★★

+Related Post: See more YA/NA recommendations

Synopsis

I use people. Not in a malicious way, but in the way an addict abuses their substance of choice. People are my vice—men specifically. I crave the emotional high they give me with a unique and reckless disregard for my own well-being—eagerly floating into an unsustainable euphoria, knowing full well that after every high comes an equal, if not more powerful, plummet into a devastating abyss. But like every junkie, I crawl willingly back into the arms of my demons. Oh, the price we pay to feel loved. We’d all sell our souls to the devil himself for that. Perhaps I have already. They say that acknowledging that you have a problem is one of the first steps to recovery. Well, in that case, my name is Charleston Smith and I have a fucking problem.

My Review:

Have you ever feel that all your senses in withdrawal because for as long as it took you to read that book, you were there, in it— running up the stairs? Feeling the touch on the small of your back of the handsome man there, while your eyes basked in the landscape through a car window before them? This story was that book for me, Anne Jolin transported me into Charleston’s life and I wasn’t sure if I really wanted to read this book because I been getting mixed reviews from my fellow book bloggers but I really enjoyed how the author took me into a journey of self-discovery through Charleston struggles.


Twenty – something Charleston has been dealing with the dead of his big brother for years and losing his bf the same day without a good bye, searching for reasons to not go into relationships or trust others or herself in relationships. Even thou she knows happiness isn’t in a man she still uses them as a leverage, but that isn’t bringing her to any closer to let go or find herself.


She realizes that is time to move on to be finally happy - but she soon discovers that it won’t be an easy task with 3 men trying to get her.


With ‘The gentleman we all dreams about’, ‘the lover from the past’ and ‘sexy-alpha security bodyguard’ Charleston is out of her depth from the get-go, but everything about the about them drag her to them and she wants to find out what she really wants. Not to mention that each encounter with those men leaves her hot and bothered.


And so Charleston’s true adventure starts, as she slowly starts to let go and forget about all the grudges that she’s been keep for too many years and letting his brothers finally resting in peace.


The Senator was like having a perfect movie start, handsome, gentleman, caring and dedicated to the ones he loved. The Alpha bodyguard was the one who showed her that she didn’t have to act like she might break to be loved and desired by a man. The first love, showed our girl that sometimes we need to listen in order to be free.


However, while her lover’s life might be finally moving in the right direction and so is her relationship with herself? I’m not given this book 5 or 6 because at the ended I didn’t comprehend who was the guy she picked and the sucker in me wanted more them.

bottom of page