top of page

Review: The Summer Games: Out of Bounds by R.S. Grey

My Thoughts:

Off-the-charts enemies-to-lovers romance with a bold and irresistible erotic touch.

★★★★

+Related Post: See more YA/NA recommendations

Synopsis

From the USA TODAY Bestselling author of Scoring Wilder, comes a sexy new STANDALONE novel. I despise Erik Winter. He’s arrogant and cruel—a man I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy—and by some twisted turn of fate, he’s my new Olympic gymnastics coach. I’ve had to contend with gruff coaches in the past, but Erik is far worse. His stern demeanor complements a body built for intimidation, and his reprimands come from a mouth so cunning, I know it could strip me of my defenses—if I let it. Though each of us would love to be rid of the other forever, we are bound to each other by need and necessity. I’m his rising star, his best shot at proving himself to his critics. And without a coach, I have zero chance of winning gold in Rio. The easiest way forward would be to wave a white flag and make peace with the man I’ll be sharing close quarters with for the foreseeable future, but he is intent on war. Fine. By. Me. If he pushes me, I’ll push back harder. If he wants to test me, to play with my head, I’ll show him just how many boundaries I’m willing to cross. Because I know it’s not a choice between winning or warring—not if you can have them both. At the end of it all, I plan on leaving Rio with gold around my neck and his icy heart in the palm of my hand.


My Review:

An enemies to lover romance by R.S. Grey. Ah, the mere mention of that makes my spine tingle with excitement. Devouring this little nugget of sexiness I found out that our phenomenal author R.S. Grey gave us something new and bold very bold, this book and the first one (even though the stories are only slightly connected) they never stopped being interesting, engaging, exciting and literally impossible to put down. The story of two people, each of them demanding and headstrong both with dealing with tough battles one of a shared past and the other with the future before her, some rules are broken, some strategies never work and the off chart passion leave them out of bounds, the sexual tension between the characters keeps escalating, surprises keep coming and coming. Until they recognize this is not a game or mere thing of attraction this love.


´He wouldn’t consume them the way he consumed me.’

Brie is the new Cinderella for the Olympics this year, her mom had given everything to keep helping her daughter get her where she is now. No time, for friends, dates, nights out not even flirting with hot guys. Until, her coach results to be a super HOTTIE and a new naughty side of Brie comes to game. Brie has spent all her years making sure she get the gold and new life to her mom. But her prefect plan comes to a screeching halt when she suddenly finds herself falling in love with very man who treats her like a little girl and not a woman, the one she can’t stop fighting with it.

´If I can’t have Erik, I still can have gold.´

So what is a girl to do when she falls for her coach but believes he doesn’t care for her? She plots some strategies to stay distant but the more she steps back the more she wants him.


´Her voice was distant and small, nothing like the girl who’d just come apart underneath me.´

Coach Erik, has his own him gym and was one of the best athletes, but he hides past scars which haven’t heal yet and now that his father is sick he needs to take his place and lead the USA team to win gold. But how’s he going to do that when his own father doesn’t want him to be the coach. Father and son had been away for so many years there’s a broken bound between them which the press fills everyday with brand-new lies. Dealing with memories from the past and trying to prove himself he can do this Erik never planned to set eyes on a young Brie, he never like young girls he prefers women who knew what they getting without crossing any bounds. But more unexpected Brie’s come back and rants he allowed her to get under his skin and to his heart.


‘UNBREAKABLE, it’s a reminder to myself.’


As the rules of the games keep changing and some bounds are crossed all over again, we watch go the buffer between them become heavy with lust and how and an angry young woman struggles to get her head to the game only but her body betrays her every time she is near the object of all her daydreams and hot fantasies, and be can feel it with her. But as we have a look into the hero’s POV (which I LOVE) we know how he feels that strong bound and that she’s more than just another woman for him. They need to find a middle point before everything consumes us.


‘She wasn’t just oblivious to the effect she had on men. She had no fucking clue.’


Overall, this was a great read, start to finish. I’ll admit that I was surprised by the new sexual insight author Grey showed this time, and how risky it was to surprise us reader with a new side. I also felt that Erik’s POV was not given the spotlight it could have had. But these observations are merely the result of a fussy reader, entirely subjective.


bottom of page