top of page

Review: Does My Bump Look Big In This? By Amy Lynch

My Thoughts:

A perfect Romantic Comedy in my eyes, this story hooked me in from the start

★★★★★

+Buy Now: Amazon Kindle

Synopsis:

the MOTHER of all comedies is due... Newlyweds Barry and Becky are just back from their tropical honeymoon. The tans are gorgeous, and it was five star luxury all the way. But there’s a problem. Barry’s desperate for a baby, and Becky’s not quite so keen. Surrounded by pregnant friends and a mother who’s talking about the ticking of invisible biological clocks, Becky starts to feel the pressure. When a surprise pregnancy rocks the boat, Becky’s friends and family are rooting for her all the way. Will she navigate the choppy waters to motherhood? Will she survive antenatal classes? Can she avoid stretchmarks, indigestion and her dreaded boss? And most importantly of all… does her bump look big in this?


My Review:

I already loved Amy Lynch and I enjoyed Does My Bump Look Big in This?

Even more! Rebecca is BACK FOLKS!! And with something in the oven this time. She’s is one of those character that you can love or hate and I definitely love her so much even thou I have to accept that sometimes she annoys me a bit and she can be a bit selfish but I love her self-esteem and how she convince herself that she doesn’t have the fault of things, she pretty much hilarious. She can do everything when she puts her mind to it. She has her own plans and they always work out one way or another but never how she expect things. She manages to save herself in every situation, no matter how awkward they are. I loved how different our lady is and all the humor and lessons here. While reading this book there was a smile plastered on my face the entire time.

Since Amy gave my ARC about two months ago I been I am so IN LOVE with this book, I wish I could have kept reading it over and over again. I was willing to forfeit food and sleep in favor of just one more page. Amy Lynch’s prose is so confident and engaging—outmatched only by her clever dialogues and measured pace. So far this is one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read this year—funny, romantic, realistic, and even deeply touching at times.

Everyone was waiting for Rebecca to get the baby after the honeymoon but she doesn’t have a baby in her plans, apparently something from her past doesn’t let her to have that dream. And probably some of you could think that she was selfish and getting older and a baby is a blessing but I must admit that I’m on team Becky here I have no plans for a baby and I’m almost 24 years old but sue me I never dreamed with the Barbie house full with a husband and babies. Whatsoever after a few days her oven had a little blip and she was more than scared because she doesn’t had that “Mama instinct” In every chapter Rebecca learns something new about her and discover that motherhood isn’t exactly that charming as they sell it on TV.

Ticking off all the major components of a well-comedy story, Amy Lynch’s writes a sprightly, character-driven story that is impossible to put down, but the way she take her characters to another great level is amazing, all the while adding more and more complex facets to the characters, is a sight to see. I loved this book a ridiculous amount, will recommend it to anyone that’s willing to listen to me, and already cannot wait for this author’s next adventure, is becky coming for more?

+Follow Me: Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads

bottom of page